C-FAIR EndorsementsMinimize





C-FAIR General Election Endorsements
Tuesday, November 8


State Senate District 19
Senator Morgan McGarvey
State Senate District 33
Senator Gerald Neal
State House District 30
Representative Tom Burch

State House District 37
Representative Jeffery Donohue
State House District 38
McKenzie Cantrell
State House District 40
Representative Dennis Horlander
State House District 42
Representative Reginald Meeks
State House District 43
Representative Darryl Owens
State House District 48
Maria Sorolis
State House District 75
Representative Kelly Flood
State House District 79
Representative Susan Westrom
Frankfort Mayor
Mayor Bill May
Berea City Council
Reid Connelly
Edd Easton-Hogg
Jack Marshall
John Payne
Martha Wayland
Billy Wooten
Bowling Green Board of Commissioners
Ryan Fulkerson
Andrew Manley
Nate Morguelan
Lexington City Council District 2
Councilwoman Shevawn Akers

Louisville Metro Council District 16
Gill Holland

Jefferson County Family Court Division 9
Judge Gina Kay Calvert
Jefferson County District Court Division 10
Tanisha Hickerson
Jefferson County Public School Board District 2
Chris Kolb
Jefferson County Public School Board District 7
Chris Brady


In 11 contested Kentucky Senate and House races, C-FAIR proudly endorses incumbents who have helped advance a “Statewide Fairness Law” and worked to block destructive anti-LGBT legislation, including this year’s “License to Discriminate” and the anti- transgender “Bathroom Bully Bill,” which would make Kentucky the next North Carolina. Newcomers McKenzie Cantrell and Maria Sorolis will be strong additions to our current team of Fairness champions in the Kentucky General Assembly.

In Frankfort, C-FAIR endorses incumbent Mayor Bill May, who helped pass a Fairness Ordinance in Kentucky’s Capital City in 2013. 

Lexington Councilwoman Shevawn Akers has moved swiftly to protect and advance LGBT rights, and C-FAIR recommends her for another term representing District 2.

Small businessman and environmentally-sustainable real estate developer Gill Holland earns an emphatic endorsement from C-FAIR for Louisville Metro Council District 16. Mr. Holland is a longtime Fairness Campaign supporter who has also earned the endorsement of former Republican Primary candidate Chip Sobel.

In Berea and Bowling Green, where local Fairness Ordinances have been stalled for five years, a leadership change is necessary to effect movement on LGBT discrimination protections. C-FAIR recommends voting for only six candidates for Berea City Council (voters can vote for up to eight candidates) and only three candidates for the Bowling Green Board of Commissioners (voters can vote for up to four candidates). These candidates have also received the endorsement of Kentuckians For The Commonwealth’s (KFTC) New Power PAC.


Judge Gina Kay Calvert receives C-FAIR’s support for Jefferson County Family Court Division 9 for her continued commitment to equality and her long career in family law prior to becoming a District Court judge. She will exercise fairness and compassion on the bench and add her wealth of experience as a sitting judge.

In a crowded and talented pool of candidates for Jefferson County District Court Division 10, Tanisha Hickerson is a compelling choice for her history of racial justice advocacy and compassion for her clients.

For Jefferson County Public School (JCPS) Board District 2, C-FAIR endorses Chris Kolb, a Spalding University professor who has been highly active in civil rights and social justice work. Mr. Kolb’s commitment to a new direction for JCPS and his focus and concern about the high levels of discipline LGBT and African American students receive in school impressed the C-FAIR team. Incumbent JCPS Board Member David Jones has also been an advocate for LGBT rights and helped usher in JCPS’ historic transgender-inclusive policy change.

JCPS Board Member Chris Brady has proven himself a committed advocate for the most at-risk youth of JCPS, and C-FAIR is proud to once again endorse him for JCPS Board District 7. Mr. Brady helped advocate for JCPS’ transgender-inclusive policy and has championed the need for additional in-school qualified mental health professionals through the Compassionate School Program.


C-FAIR LeadershipMinimize


Eric Graninger, Chair
Lisa Cartier Giroux, Vice-Chair
Jessica Kessinger, Treasurer
Rebecca Grant, Secretary

Board Members

Chris Hartman
Doug Lowry
Tracie Meyer
Hal Warheim
Nick Wilkerson
Dawn Wilson

Contact leadership:




Get Our NewsletterMinimize
* Required

Join us here too!

Join Fairness on Facebook

Join Fairness on Twitter

Join Fairness on YouTube

Copyright 2015 by Fairness Campaign
Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use